Egalitarian Voice
Online news outfit that comes with credible and factual news
Click Here
Our Commitment
We are committed to give latest news and update all over the world. We give valid news, events and occurence around the globe
Click Here

FULL LIST: Nigerians Who Received 2022 National Honours and What the Awards Mean

On Tuesday, October 10, President Muhammadu Buhari conferred national honours on some Nigerians and friends of Nigeria (foreigners).

Notable among the awardees include Buhari’s late Chief of Staff, Abba Kyari, Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo state; Director General of the World Trade Organisation (WTO), Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala; Registrar of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB), Ishaq Oloyede; the Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, among others.

See the full list below:


What are the national honours in Nigeria?

The tradition of conferring national honours on distinguished citizens started in 1964 during the era of Alhaji Tafawa Balewa with the enactment of National Honour Act 5 of 1964.

The Act, which retroactively took effect from October 1, 1963 (before it was established), empowers the president to honour deserving citizens who have contributed to the nation’s development and progress in any field of endeavour.

What are the categories of national honours in Nigeria?

There are eight categories, namely:

Grand Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic (GCFR)

Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON)

Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic (CFR)

Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON)

Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR)

Officer of the Order of the Niger (OON)

Member of the Order of the Federal Republic (MFR)

Member of the Order of the Niger (MON)

The highest honour is GCFR

GCFR is the highest honour in Nigeria and is believed to be meant for presidents and past Heads of State (though the Act does not say anything on this).

There are, however, two exceptions: Chief Obafemi Awolowo and Moshood Kashimawo (MKO) Abiola.

Awolowo received GCFR without becoming Head of State. President Shehu Shagari gave him that award for his outstanding service to Nigeria before and after independence.

Also, President Buhari, in 2018, announced the conferment of the GCFR on Moshood Kashimawo (MKO) Abiola, the presumed winner of the June 12, 1993 election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Segun Akinlabi

Media Blogger

EgalitarianVoice is a subsidiary of EGALITARIAN MEDIA HUB, it is a blog that keeps you up to date latest news and updates all around the world.

Our articles are written by real life geeks, seasoned and experienced authors.

The site is committed to secure your right cus your voice must be heard and advertisement of your products & services.

The site is managed by Egalitarian Segun AKINLABI who is the Editor-in-chief, others editors from Egalitarian Team Oyo State, Nigeria.


Featured Posts